Imágenes de páginas
[blocks in formation]

* Author of "A Complete System of Fluxions," and other Mathematical works. Afterwards Professor of Mathematics, Edinburgh University.

+ Author of the famous "Inquiry into the National Debt".-From 16th November, 1780, Professors Copland and Hamilton, with the approbation of the Magistrates and College, made an exchange of their Classes and Duties, Professor Copland resuming charge of the Natural Philosophy Class, and Professor Hamilton acting as Professor of Mathematics. No formal change of offices was, however, made until


Afterwards Professor of Anatomy, Glasgow University.

Mention is found of a Humanist in 1620-4 (David Wedderburn), in 1650-5 (John Forbes), and in 1660 (George Whyte).

Afterwards Professor of Greek, Edinburgh University.

University of Aberdeen.

ON the 2nd of August, 1858, the Royal assent was given to an Act of Parliament (21 and 22 Victoria, cap. 83), intituled “an Act to make provision for the better government and discipline of the Universities of Scotland, and improving and regulating the course of study therein; and for the Union of the Two Universities and Colleges of Aberdeen ".

By Ordinance No. 7 of the Commissioners appointed under this Act, approved by Her Majesty in Council, on 30th June, 1860, the two foundations of the "University and King's College of Aberdeen" and "Marischal College and University of Aberdeen" were, from and after the 15th September, 1860, united and incorporated into One University and College, under the style and title of the "UNIVERSITY OF ABERDEEN".

The University as thus constituted is a corporate body, consisting of a Chancellor, Rector, Principal, Professors, Registered Graduates and Alumni, and Matriculated Students. Its government is administered by the University Court, the Senatus Academicus, and the General Council. It possesses all the powers, privileges, and property of the two Universities and Colleges above-mentioned, and, by virtue of the Universities Act (Sect. I.), it takes rank among the Universities of Scotland as from the date of the foundation of the University of 1494-5.

By the Universities (Scotland) Act, 1889 (52 and 53 Victoria, cap. 55), which, so far as is consistent with the tenor thereof, is to be read and construed along with the afore-mentioned Act of 1858, important changes were made in the administration of the government of the University, and Commissioners were appointed with extensive powers for the regulation of the arrangements of this as well as the other Scottish Universities. The University Court was much enlarged, and its powers greatly extended. Power was also given to the Commissioners to grant a constitution to the Students' Representative Council; and a new body, the Scottish Universities' Committee of the Privy Council, which stands in a common relation to all the Scottish Universities, was instituted.


The University Buildings, formerly of King's College, are situated in College Bounds, Old Aberdeen, where most of the Classes in the Faculty of Arts and the Classes in the Faculty of Divinity are conducted. The Buildings contain also the Chapel, General Library, Observatory, and Senatus Room.

Of these buildings, the most notable, architecturally, are the Chapel and its crowned Tower, which have been preserved remarkably intact through various vicissitudes, and together form a group of Academic buildings unique in Scotland. The Tower is flanked by strong buttresses, and terminates in a double crown, surmounted by ball and cross. On two of these buttresses are coats of arms of the Royal Patron, James IV. (dated 1504), and his son, Alexander, Archbishop of St. Andrews, who perished, yet a youth, with his father, at Flodden. Near the West Door is an Inscription, still legible, defining the day and year (2nd April, 1500) when the masons (latomi) began to build, under the auspices of James IV., who is styled, among other honours, "invictissimus,"-internal evidence that the inscription is older than 1513, the date of the disaster of Flodden. On a smaller buttress near, we have the heraldic insignia of his Queen, Margaret Tudor, through whom the Stuarts came to inherit the English throne. The Chapel, which consists of a long nave without pillars or side aisles, and terminates in a triangular apse, was originally built of freestone, but is now enclosed on the South Side in a casing of granite. Into this granite casing outside have been inserted various interesting coats of arms, including those of James IV., Bishop William Elphinstone, Bishop Gavin Dunbar, Bishop William Stewart, Hector Boece (these four being recognised by their respective initials-W. E., G. D., W. S., H. B.), and among the subsequent and more recent benefactors, a prominent place is assigned to the Simpson and the Fraser Arms, in honour of Doctors Simpson and Fraser, whose names are associated with very important and valuable Foundations.

In the interior of the Chapel the most interesting object is the elaborate and richly carved Oak Screen which is without any parallel example in Scotland, and is believed to have few rivals in Great Britain. There is every reason to believe that it is contemporary with the Founder, who is said by his biographer to have given "caelaturæ, sellae, subsellia," i.e., "carvings, stalls, and sub-stalls," for the service of the Chapel. Other notable features are the tomb of the Founder, Bishop Elphinstone; the double Pulpit, one Renaissance in style, bearing the name of Patrick Forbes of Corse, the other Gothic (originally from the Cathedral), containing the arms of Bishop William Stewart (with

initials V. S.), who was one of the last of the Roman Catholic Bishops of Aberdeen before the Reformation.

The large square Tower in the N.E. corner of the Quadrangle is known as Cromwell's Tower, having been built about 1658 under the direction of General Monk and his officers, who bore rule for Cromwell at that period in the North. With the exception of the small Ivy Tower, all the other buildings, not previously referred to, are modern, belonging entirely to the nineteenth century. A new block of buildings, erected in 1912-13 on the site of the Aulton Brewery, accommodates the Departments of English, History, French and German.

The University Buildings, formerly of Marischal College, are situated in Broad Street, Aberdeen, where the Classes in the Faculties of Science (except Mathematics), Law, and Medicine are conducted. The Buildings contain also various Museums and the portion of the Library that belongs to the departments of Natural Science, Law, and Medicine.

Of the original College Buildings in the New Town, hardly any fragment remains, except the famous Stone with the Inscription: "Thay haif said; quhat say thay; lat thame say," which is still preserved in the vestibule of the existing building. The foundation stone of the present building was laid by the Chancellor, the then Duke of Richmond, in 1837, the edifice being from the design of Archibald Simpson, who has left not a few kindred monuments of his architectural taste and skill to adorn his native city.

The site was originally occupied by the conventual buildings of the Grey Friars or Franciscan Monastery, the Chapel of which survived, in greatly altered form, as the old Greyfriars Parish Church until 1903, when it was removed to make way for the new West Front of the College.

By the scheme of University Extension, completed in 1906, the Marischal College Buildings have been opened up to Broad Street, and very extensive additions have been made to the Class-room, Laboratory, and other accommodation. The new buildings were erected from designs by Mr. A. Marshall Mackenzie, A.R.S.A., LL.D., Architect, and the first portion, including the Mitchell Hall and Tower, University Union Rooms and Anatomical Department, was inaugurated in October, 1895. The new North Wing, accommodating the Departments of Botany, Surgery, Pathology and Chemistry, was completed and thrown open at the commencement of the Winter Session of 1896; and the North Tower was opened in 1897. The extension of the South Wing, devoted to the Department of Natural Philosophy, was completed in 1898. The West Front, completed in 1906, contains the part of the Library dealing with Law, Medicine and Natural Science, the Court and Faculty Rooms and Administrative Offices and

also the Departments of Agriculture, Geology, Education, Political Economy, Comparative Psychology, Physiology, Medicine and Law,


The Chancellor is the Head of the University. It is through him or his deputy, the Vice-Chancellor, that degrees are conferred on persons found qualified by the Senatus Academicus.

Under the Universities Act of 1858, he is elected for life by the General Council of the University, of which he is President.


Earl of Aberdeen, died 14th December, 1860 1860{The Duke of Richmond, died 21st October, 1860


1861 The Duke of Richmond and Gordon, K. G., died 27th Sept., 1903.

1903 Lord Strathcona and Mount Royal, G. C.M.G., LL.D., died 21st January, 1914.

1914 The Earl of Elgin and Kincardine, K.G., G.C.S.I., G.C.I.E., M.A., LL.D., D.C.L., died 19th January, 1917.

1917 THE DUKE OF RICHMOND and Gordon, K.G., G.C.V.O., C.B.


The Vice-Chancellor is appointed by the Chancellor, for the purpose, in the absence of the Chancellor, of discharging his office, in so far as regards the conferring of degrees. Certain duties also fall to the Vice-Chancellor in connection with the election of a Parliamentary Representative for the University


1860 Very Rev. Principal Peter Colin Campbell, D.D. 1877 Very Rev. Principal Wm. Robinson Pirie, D.D. 1885 Principal Sir William D. Geddes, LL.D., D.Litt.

1900 1903

Very Rev. Principal John Marshall Lang, C.V.O., D.D., LL.D. 1909 VERY REV. PRINCIPAL SIR GEO. ADAM SMITH, D.D., LL.D. Litt.D.,





By the "Representation of the People (Scotland) Act, 1868" (31 and 32 Vict., chap. 48, 27 to 41), the Chancellors, Members of the University Court, Professors, and Members of the General Councils of the Universities of Glasgow and Aberdeen, were entitled to elect a Member to serve in Parliament for these Universities.

« AnteriorContinuar »