Imágenes de páginas

Marischal College and University.

ALTHOUGH the Foundation Charter of 1593 contemplates the existence of a Chancellor, it prescribes no mode of election, and the successors of the Founder-the Earls Marischal-under the title of "Patrons of the Earl Marischal's College "-seem to have been regarded as Chancellors until their forfeiture in 1715. In 1727, a petition was presented to George II., representing the difficulties experienced from the want of a Chancellor, and praying His Majesty to appoint the Duke of Cumberland to the Office. The result of the petition is unknown. The first recorded appointment of a Chancellor is that of the Earl of Bute in 1761,


as the office is become vacant by the death of his Grace the Duke of Argyll". From that time the Chancellor was elected for life by the Senatus Academicus.

Besides a Rector to be chosen annually by the "suppositi," divided into four Nations, the Charter established an official entitled the Dean of Faculty (to be elected at the same time by the Chancellor, Rector, Principal, Regents, and Senior Minister of Aberdeen), whose duty was to preside at Examinations, and at the granting of Degrees. No formal record of these elections is extant of earlier date than 1664.

The officials charged with the ordinary work of tuition were the Principal and Three Regents, to whom a fourth was added in 1620, when the Principalship + was temporarily conjoined with the Divinity Chair. It was the intention of the Founder that

* The Duke of Cumberland, who in 1727 was only six years of age, became, in 1746, Chancellor of St. Andrews.

The Principalship in Marischal College was in two instances, in the 17th century, held by Doctors of Medicine.

each Regent should devote himself to the teaching of some special branch or branches; and this system seems to have prevailed until the short-lived union with King's College in 1641, after which date each Regent began to carry his students through all the four years of the curriculum. After 1717 one of the Regents was, in tardy compliance with the Act of Visitation of 1700, set apart to the duties of Professor of Greek, and in 1753, the other Regencies became Professorships of Moral Philosophy of Natural Philosophy, and of Civil and Natural History respectively.

To the original offices the following Professorships were added ---Mathematics in 1613,* Divinity in 1625, Medicine in 1700, Oriental Languages in 1732, Chemistry in 1793, Church History in 1833, Humanity, Anatomy, and Surgery in 1839, and that of Medical Logic and Medical Jurisprudence in 1857.

[blocks in formation]
[ocr errors]

George Gordon

Charles Gordon Lennox

John Milne 1666-72 No Record

1673-75 George Meldrum

1676-78 No Record 1679-86 Patrick Sibbald 1687 No Record


[merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small]

No Professor of Mathematics was appointed until 1626.

+Further details as to the Officials will be found in the New Spalding Club's Fasti Academiae Mariscallanae, vol. ii., 1898.

See under King's College (list of Principals).

[blocks in formation]


DEANS OF FACULTY--(Continued).

George Campbell, late Principal | 1826 Alex. Thomson of Banchory 1797-99 Alex. Burnett of Strachan 1800-01 William Forbes Leith of Whitehaugh

1802-03 Alexander Irvine of Drum 1804-06 Sir Robert Burnett of Leys, Bart. 1807-13 Alexander Irvine of Schivas 1814-18 George Douglas, Sheriff of Kincardineshire

1819-25 Hugh Lumsden of Pitcaple

1593 Robert Howie*
1598 Gilbert Gray
1616 Andrew Edie
1620 William Forbes +
1621 Patrick Dun, M.D.
1649 William Moir

1661 James Leslie, M.D.
1678 Robert Paterson

1601 Patrick Gray

1827-33 Duncan Davidson of Tullichetly
1834-36 James Blaikie, Provost
1837-47 Alexander Bannerman, M.P.
1848-51 Sir Michael Bruce, Bart.
1852-55 Alexander Thomson of Banchory
1856-57 Sir John Forbes, Bart., M.D.
Alexander Thomson of Banchory
Sir Thomas Blaikie, Knt.
Alex. Stronach




1717 Thomas Blackwell, elder
1728 John Osborn

1748 Thomas Blackwell, younger

1757 Robert Pollock

1759 George Campbell +

1796 William Laurence Brown §
1832 Daniel Dewar


1602 William Forbes, Prof. of Logic
1603 Thomas Reid ||
1605 Andrew Keith

1610 Patrick Dun, Prof. of Logic
1611 Alexander Scroggie
1613 William Gray

1616 Peter Blackburn, the younger
John Ross
Adam Reid

[blocks in formation]
[blocks in formation]

* Afterwards Principal of St. Mary's College, St. Andrews. + Afterwards first Bishop of Edinburgh.

Author of "The Philosophy of Rhetoric," "A Dissertation on Miracles," &c. § Previously Professor of Church History, Moral Philosophy, and the Law of Nature, Utrecht University; author of the first Burnet Prize Essay on Theism. || Afterwards Latin Secretary to King James VI.

One of the "Aberdeen Doctors

** Afterwards Regent, King's Coll.

Afterwards Principal of Edinburgh University.

Afterwards Professor of Divinity, Edinburgh University.

[blocks in formation]
[blocks in formation]

1753 William Duncan, Professor of Natural Philosophy

1758 William Kennedy, Prof. of Greek 1760 James Beattie, Professor of Moral Philosophy+

George Skene, Professor of Natural
Philosophy; of Civil and Natural
History, 1775

1775 Patrick Copland, Prof. of Natural Philosophy

1779 Robert Hamilton, Prof. of Natural Philosophy

1782 John Stuart, Prof. of Greek

1787 James Hay Beattie, Prof. of Moral Philosophy

1788 William Morgan, Prof. of Civil and Natural History

James Beattie, Prof. of Civil and
Natural History

1796 George Glennie, Professor of Moral Philosophy

1811 Robert Rainy, Prof. of Civil and Natural History

James Davidson, Prof. of Civil and
Natural History

1817 Patrick Copland, Prof. of Natural Philosophy

1823 William Knight, Prof. of Natural Philosophy

1827 Robert James Brown, Prof.of Greek 1841 Wm. MacGillivray, Prof. of Civil and Natural History §

1845 David Gray, Professor of Natural Philosophy

1846 William Martin, Professor of Moral Philosophy

1853 James Nicol, Professor of Civil and Natural History

1856 James Clerk Maxwell, Professor of Natural Philosophy ||


1745 Robert Pollock 1759 Alexander Gerard 1771 George Campbell 1795 William Laurence Brown 1831 Alexander Black ** 1843 William Robinson Pirie

* Afterwards Regent, Edinburgh University.

+ Appointed Regent at King's College in 1711, but declined to accept. Author of the "Essay on Truth," "The Minstrel," &c.

Author of "A History of British Birds," and other Zoological works. Author of "A Treatise on Electricity and Magnetism," and other works on Physics. Afterwards Professor of Experimental Physics, Cambridge University. Previously Regent, St. Salvator's College, St. Andrews. One of the "Aberdeen Doctors". ** Afterwards Professor in New College, Edinburgh.

« AnteriorContinuar »