The Debates in the Federal Convention of 1787: Which Framed the Constitution of the United States of America

Portada
Prometheus Books, 2006 M12 5 - 677 páginas
The very future of the nation was at stake ...In the summer of 1787, fifty-five of the leading figures in the recently independent United States of America traveled to Philadelphia as delegates to the Federal Convention to address problems arising from implementation of the Articles of Confederation as the governing document establishing federal authority and the rights of the newly formed states. The very future of the nation was at stake. Despite the sweltering heat that summer, the windows were kept shut and locked, lest outsiders hear what was being said.This handsome, affordable paperback edition contains James Madison's entire narrative of the stirring historic debates that led to the creation of one of the free world's most respected documents: the Constitution of the United States. Known today as the Father of the Constitution, Madison clearly and precisely chronicles the often-heated discussions, and his is the primary record of the events that established the United States government, its division of power, and ultimately the character of American democracy. Through Madison's words we understand the essence of the personalities involved and the conflict and compromise that was inherent in the drafting of the document.The Debates in the Federal Convention of 1787 includes Madison's notes and remarks as well as other requisite information for interpreting the events of that historic year. The work is divided into three parts: Antecedents of the Federal Convention of 1787, which presents the complete text of the Declaration of Independence and the Articles of Confederation; The Federal Convention of 1787, a day-by-day description of the debates surrounding the formation of the Constitution; and The Constitution, Its Ratification, and Amendments, which presents the complete text of the Constitution, documents attesting to its ratification, and the Bill of Rights.With a preface by University of Richmond historian Robert Alley, this landmark work is absolutely indispensable for historians, scholars, and all those who treasure America's heritage.
 

Comentarios de la gente - Escribir un comentario

No encontramos ningún comentario en los lugares habituales.

Páginas seleccionadas

Contenido

MAmsONs PREFACEA SKETCH NEVER Fmrsrmn NOR APPLIED
1
ay 81
29
Friday June 1
37
Saturday June 2
47
Monday June 4
53
Wednesday June 6
63
Thursday June 7 t
69
Friday June 8
75
Monday July 23 r
303
Friday August 10
373
Saturdat August 11
380
Tuesday August 14
395
Wednesday August 15
404
Friday August 17
415
Monday August 20
427
Tuesday August 21
435

Mordanwwll
84
Tuesday June 12
91
Thursday June 14
101
Wednesday June 20 _
131
Thursday June 21
139
that branch be elected by the people adoptedThat it be elected
146
Monday June 25
155
Tuesday June 26
166
Wednesday June 27
174
Friday June 29
182
Saturday June 80
190
4 _
201
Second resolution that the Legislature consist of two branches
206
Friday July 6 v
213
i with the exception of the first entry the Session of Thursday June 14
i
Wednesday July 18
274
Thursdm July 19
282
Friday July 20 t r
288
Saturday July 21
294
Wednesday August 22
443
Thursday August 28
451
Friday August 24
459
Saturday August 25
465
Monday August 27
471
Tuesday August 28
476
Thursday August 80
489
Friday August 31
497
Monday September 3
503
Wednesday September 5
512
Thursday September 6
519
Friday September 7
525
Saturday September 8
532
Saturday September 1 502
537
Twesewys September 11 a 645
545
Thessday September 13 h
558
gateway Septembee I5
567
Amendments to change the representation of the States not agreed
577

Otras ediciones - Ver todas

Términos y frases comunes

Acerca del autor (2006)

With a preface by University of Richmond historian Robert Alley, this landmark work is absolutely indispensable for historians, scholars, and all those who treasure America's heritage.

Información bibliográfica