« AnteriorContinuar »
sum allocated by the Library Committee from the Class Library Grant. The Collection thus formed has been placed in the S.W. Transept of the King's College Library, which was fitted up in 1915 as a Reading Room. Students who are readers in the General Library under Regulation XI. may, on paying two shillings per annum, borrow six French and six German volumes ; on paying one shilling per annum they may borrow six French or six German volumes.
During class attendance the General Library regulations apply to all books borrowed from the Classical Library or the Modern Languages Library; but borrowers are allowed to retain Classical Library or Modern Languages Library books in their possession at the close of a summer term, during the ensuing autumn, provided that this regulation shall not apply to the autumn following the summer term in which a student has completed his curriculum.
THE DEY-MASSON CELTIC LIBRARY (1). In 1896 the Library, with the aid of a grant from the Aberdeen Highland Association, acquired the Celtic collection of the Rev. Donald Tolmie Masson, M.A. (King's Coll. 1848), M.D. (St. And.); and an annual grant has been made from Library funds to keep the collection up to date. The books (shelf marked r), of which a separate Catalogue was printed in 1897, are placed in the N.W. transept of the King's College Library. They include not merely Celtic literature and philology but works dealing with the history, topography and antiquities of the Scottish Highlands.
In 1915 Mr. William Dey, LL D., bequeathed the sum of £1000 : the free income to be applied to the purchase of books for the Celtic Library.
THE LOCAL LIBRARY (A). In the Librarian's room at King's College is placed a large Local Collection (shelf marked A) containing books and pamphlets (except such as belong more naturally to the Dey-Masson Celtic Ìibrary) relating to or published in the district allotted to the University of Aberdeen by the Act 24 and 25 Vict. cap. 107 (Kincardine, Aberdeen, Banff, Moray, Nairn, Inverness, Ross and Cromarty, Sutherland, Caithness, Orkney and Shetland); or written or edited by natives of, or residents in, that district, or by graduates, alumni, or officers of the University of Aberdeen. The Library Committee confidently appeals to former students and to all friends of the University to present to the Library copies of any publications which they may write
or edit. All such, however small, will be gratefully received and acknowledged.
THE THEOLOGICAL LIBRARY. The Theological Library, founded in 1700, contains about 3500 volumes, of which a Catalogue was printed in 1901. It is placed in the King's College Library, and students of Divinity, who are readers in the General Library under Regulation XI., have the privilege of borrowing books from the Theological Library, which books may be retained during the Summer. A Catalogue was printed in 1901.
THE PHILLIPS PHARMACOLOGICAL LIBRARY. A room in the West Tower, Marischal College, has been set aside to contain a special collection of books on Pharmacology and Therapeutics founded in memory of Charles Douglas Fergusson Phillips, M.D. (Mar. Coll. 1859), LL.D. (1888), by his widow. The collection includes books presented by Mrs. Phillips or purchased through donations made by her, together with all older books and periodicals on Materia Medica formerly shelved in the General Library. A Subject Catalogue was printed in 1911.
THE LAW LIBRARY. A Law Library, placed in a special room at Marischal College, is open during Term on certain evenings (in addition to ordinary Library hours) for the use of Law Students, for whom tutorial classes are held. A Subject Catalogue was printed in 1906.
CLASS LIBRARIES. There are also Class Libraries in connection with the following Departments, viz.: Agriculture, Agricultural Chemistry, Anatomy, Biblical Criticism, Botany, Celtic, Chemistry, Church History, Comparative Psychology, Education, English, Forestry, Geology, History, Hygiene, Law, Logic, Materia Medica, Mathematics, Moral Philosophy, Natural Philosophy, Pathology, Physiology, Political Economy, Political Science, Semitic Languages, Systematic Theology, Veterinary Hygiene, Zoology. Information regarding these may be obtained on application to the Professor or Lecturer. By Ordinance No. 8 they are under the general superintendence of the Library Committee, which allots to each. a small sum annually from a grant assigned for the purpose by the University Court.
In 1899—largely through the efforts of the Principal, Sir W. D. Geddes—a Committee of Senatus had entrusted to it the supervision of a series of publications by the teaching staff and others connected with the University. The object of this series, styled Aberdeen University Studies, is to stimulate original research within the University in all branches of study, to prove a bond of union between alumni, such as is much required after they leave the University, and to provide a means of effecting exchanges with other Universities and learned bodies. The Curator of the Library was appointed Convener of the Committee, and the Librarian, General Editor of the Studies. Certain volumes have been issued through the co-operation of the New Spalding Club, and others by means of a small grant made annually for the purpose by the Library Committee. The scheme has been much helped by the action of the late Miss Anne Hamilton Cruickshank, who, in 1911, bequeathed a sum of £10,000 to special trustees empowered to expend the revenue therefrom on behalf of the Library, either by purchasing books or periodicals, or by aiding the publication of Catalogues and of University Studies, with a view to exchange with other institutions or societies. The subjects already dealt with cover a wide field, including, among others, Classical Archæology, Scottish History, German Literature, Bibliography, Philosophy, Comparative Religion, Anthropology, Physiology, Pathology, Botany, Zoology, Geology, Chemistry, and Agriculture. *The publications received in exchange from all parts of the world prove of the utmost value to the Library.
For notes on the History of the University Library, see Appendix B, Calendar 1893-94 ; and Aberdeen University Review, i., pp. 123-31.
An Author Catalogue of the Books in the King's College Library was printed in three vols. in 1873-87. These three vols. may be had in cloth for Twenty Shillings.
An Author Catalogue of the Books in Marischal College Library was printed in two volumes in 1874-97 : price Five Shillings. Subject Catalogues of Books in certain departments have been printed.
The Aberdeen University Library Bulletin giving lists of recent accessions is issued at intervals.
In terms of Ordinance No. 8 of the Universities Commissioners (1889) the superintendence of all Museums is entrusted to a Committee called the Museum Committee, consisting of three members (not being members of Senatus) appointed by the University Court, and six members appointed by the Senatus.
THE ANTHROPOLOGICAL MUSEU M.
Curator - Professor Reid.
THE valuable Anthropological and Archæological collections formerly dispersed in various parts of the University Buildings have now for the most part been consolidated in one collection in Marischal College. On the transference of the Library to the new front block in the summer of 1906, the lofty apartment with surrounding gallery formerly occupied by the library was thoroughly re-equipped and furnished with commodious wall cases and otherwise adapted as a Museum. In it there have now been brought together and carefully arranged
(1) The Wilson Collection of classical and Eastern antiquities, coins, etc., collected by Dr. Robert Wilson in his travels in the early part of last century and bequeathed by him to the University together with a fund for the foundation of a Travelling Fellowship.
In accordance with a resolution of the Trustees, the Library in connection with this collection has been temporarily placed in King's College. It embraces Dr. Wilson's original library and a number of recent works in Assyrian, Egyptian, and Phænician, as well as Classic Archæology, together with a series of the leading periodicals of learned societies dealing with such subjects.
(2) A collection of local and foreign antiquities, including stone and bronze implements and weapons, coins, pottery and miscellaneous objects formerly preserved in the Archeological Museum, King's College, also various objects of antiquity formerly in Marischal College Portrait Gallery, including the Henderson Collection of early classical vases.
(3) The Anthropological Collection formerly in the Anatomy Department, including a very complete series of specimens illustrating the habits and customs of natives of Africa, America, Melanesia, Australasia and the Malay Archipelago.
THE EGYPTIAN MUSEUM. This Museum contains the valuable collection of Egyptian antiquities, presented in 1897 to the University through the kindness of the late Dr. Grant Bey, of Cairo, and of Mrs. Grant, his widow.
The collection contains, in addition to many interesting casts, very fine specimens of inscribed and sculptured stones, dating from about B.C. 4000 to comparatively recent times, a number of fine small bronzes and figurines in glazed pottery, various amulets, and a quantity of tomb furniture and mummy jewellery,
The interest and value of the collection was enhanced by a presentation from Professor Flinders Petrie of pre-historic hand-made pottery and alabaster vases, as well as of some very interesting ivory toilet articles, which date from before B.C. 4000, and from Mr. H. W. Seton-Karr of ancient Egyptian stone implements, discovered by him in Egypt.
This Museum was formerly in the King's College Buildings, but it has now been transferred to the Anthropological Museum at Marischal College.
An illustrated Catalogue of the contents of the whole of these Collections has been prepared by the Curator, Professor R. W. Reid, copies of which may be had in the Museum, price 1s.
DEPARTMENTAL MUSEUMS. 1. ANATOMICAL AND ANTHROPOLOGICAL MUSEUMS.
Curator-Professor Reid. The Anatomical Museums, adjoining the other Anatomical Rooms, contain an extensive collection of specimens of the Anatomy of Man and of the Higher Animals. The aim in forming the Collection has been to enable the Student to study the facts of Anatomy objectively, demonstrated by the Systematic, Structural, and Topographical methods, and to illustrate Anatomy in its Developmental, Comparative, Ethnological and Clinical aspects. The Museums are open on six days in the week, from 9 A.M. to 5 P.M., during the Winter Session, and from 8 A.M. to 5 P.M. during the Summer Session, except on Saturdays, when they are closed at 12 noon. The Ethnological