« AnteriorContinuar »
UNIVERSITY BUILDINGS. The University Buildings, formerly of King's College, are situated in College Bounds, Old Aberdeen, where most of the Classes in the Faculty of Arts and the Classes in the Faculty of Divinity are conducted. The Buildings contain also the Chapel, General Library, Observatory, and Senatus Room.
Of these buildings, the most notable, architecturally, are the Chapel and its crowned Tower, which have been preserved remarkably intact through various vicissitudes, and together form a group of Academic buildings unique in Scotland. The Tower is flanked by strong buttresses, and terminates in a double crown, surmounted by ball and cross. On two of these buttresses are coats of arms of the Royal Patron, James IV. (dated 1504), and his son, Alexander, Archbishop of St. Andrews, who perished, yet a youth, with his father, at Flodden. Near the West Door is an Inscription, still legible, defining the day and year (2nd April, 1500) when the masons (latomi) began to build, under the auspices of James IV., who is styled, among other honours, “invictissimus,”-internal evidence that the inscription is older than 1513, the date of the disaster of Flodden. On a smaller buttress near, we have the heraldic insignia of his Queen, Margaret Tudor, through whom the Stuarts came to inherit the English throne. The Chapel, which consists of a long nave without pillars or side aisles, and terminates in a triangular apse, was originally built of freestone, but is now enclosed on the South Side in a casing of granite. Into this granite casing outside have been inserted various interesting coats of arms, including those of James IV., Bishop William Elphinstone, Bishop Gavin Dunbar, Bishop William Stewart, Hector Boece (these four being recognised by their respective initials—W. E., G. D., W. S., H. B.), and among the subsequent and more recent benefactors, a prominent place is assigned to the Simpson and the Fraser Arms, in honour of Doctors Simpson and Fraser, whose names are associated with very important and valuable Foundations.
In the interior of the Chapel the most interesting object is the elaborate and richly carved Oak Screen which is without any parallel example in Scotland, and is believed to have few rivals in Great Britain. There is every reason to believe that it is contemporary with the Founder, who is said by his biographer to have given "caelaturæ, sellae, subsellia,” i.e., “ carvings, stalls, and sub-stalls,” for the service of the Chapel. Other notable features are the tomb of the Founder, Bishop Elphinstone; the double Pulpit, one Renaissance in style, bearing the name of Patrick Forbes of Corse, the other Gothic (originally from the Cathedral), containing the arms of Bishop William Stewart (with initials V. S.), who was one of the last of the Roman Catholic Bishops of Aberdeen before the Reformation.
The large square Tower in the N.E. corner of the Quadrangle is known as Cromwell's Tower, having been built about 1658 under the direction of General Monk and his officers, who bore rule for Cromwell at that period in the North. With the exception of the small Ivy Tower, all the other buildings, not previously referred to, are modern, belonging entirely to the nineteenth century. A new block of buildings, erected in 1912-13 on the site of the Aulton Brewery, accommodates the Departments of English, History, French and German.
The University Buildings, formerly of Marischal College, are situated in Broad Street, Aberdeen, where the Classes in the Faculties of Science (except Mathematics), Law, and Medicine are conducted. The Buildings contain also various Museums and the portion of the Library that belongs to the departments of Natural Science, Law, and Medicine.
Of the original College Buildings in the New Town, hardly any fragment remains, except the famous Stone with the Inscription : “ Thay haif said ; quhat say thay; lat thame say,” which is still preserved in the vestibule of the existing building. The foundation stone of the present building was laid by the Chancellor, the then Duke of Richmond, in 1837, the edifice being from the design of Archibald Simpson, who has left not a few kindred monuments of his architectural taste and skill to adorn his native city.
The site was originally occupied by the conventual buildings of the Grey Friars or Franciscan Monastery, the Chapel of which survived, in greatly altered form, as the old Greyfriars Parish Church until 1903, when it was removed to make way for the new West Front of the College.
By the scheme of University Extension, completed in 1906, the Marischal College Buildings have been opened up to Broad Street, and very extensive additions have been made to the Class-room, Laboratory, and other accommodation. The new buildings were erected from designs by Mr. A. Marshall Mackenzie, A.R.S.A., LL.D., Architect, and the first portion, including the Mitchell Hall and Tower, University Union Rooms and Anatomical Department, was inaugurated in October, 1895. The new North Wing, accommodating the Departments of Botany, Surgery, Pathology and Chemistry, was completed and thrown open at the commencement of the Winter Session of 1896; and the North Tower was opened in 1897. The extension of the South Wing, devoted to the Department of Natural Philosophy, was completed in 1898. The West Front, completed in 1906, contains the part of the Library dealing with Law, Medicine and Natural Science, the Court and Faculty Rooms and Administrative Offices and also the Departments of Agriculture, Geology, Education, Political Economy, Comparative Psychology, Physiology, Medicine and Law,
CHANCELLOR-REPRESENTATIVE IN PARLIAMENT
CHANCELLOR. The Chancellor is the Head of the University. It is throug! him or his deputy, the Vice-Chancellor, that degrees are conferred on persons found qualified by the Senatus Academicus.
Under the Universities Act of 1858, he is elected for life by the General Council of the University, of which he is President.
The Earl of Aberdeen, died 14th December, 1860 1 The Duke of Richmond, died 21st October, 1860
jointly. 1861 The Duke of Richmond and Gordon, K.G., died 27th Sept., 1903. 1903 Lord Strathcona and Mount Royal, G.C.M.G., LL.D., died 21st Janu1914 The Earl of Elgin and Kincardine, K.G., G.C.S.I., G.C.I.E., M.A.,
LL.D., D.C.L., died 19th January, 1917. 1917 THE DUKE OF RICHMOND AND GORDON, K.G., G.C.V.O., C.B.
VICE-CHANCELLOR. The Vice-Chancellor is appointed by the Chancellor, for the purpose, in the absence of the Chancellor, of discharging his office, in so far as regards the conferring of degrees. Certain duties also fall to the Vice-Chancellor in connection with the election of a Parliamentary Representative for the University.
VICE-CHANCELLORS1860 Very Rev. Principal Peter Colin Campbell, D.D. 1877 Very Rev. Principal Wm. Robinson Pirie, D.D. 1885 Principal Sir William D. Geddes, LL.D., D.Litt. 1900 1 1903 ) Very Rev. Principal John Marshall Lang, C.V.O., D.D., LL.D. 1909 1914 VERY REV. PRINCIPAL SIR GEO. ADAM SMITH, D.D., LL.D. Litt.D.,
REPRESENTATIVE IN PARLIAMENT. By the “Representation of the People (Scotland) Act, 1868” (31 and 32 Vict., chap. 48, 27 to 41), the Chancellors, Members of the University Court, Professors, and Members of the General Councils of the Universities of Glasgow and Aberdeen, are entitled to elect a Member to serve in Parliament for these Universities.
By Act 44 and 45 Victoria, cap. 40, when a Poll is demanded at an election, the votes are given by voting papers issued by the Registrar and returnable to him.
REPRESENTATIVES. Elected 1868 James Moncreiff, LL.D., Lord Advocate. 1869 Edward S. Gordon, Q.C., LL.D., Dean of the Faculty of Advocates. 1876 William Watson, LL.D., Lord Advocate. 1880 James Alexander Campbell
, of Stracathro, P.C., LL.D., re-elected 1885, 1886, 1892, 1895 and 1900. 1906 1910 ) SIR HENRY CRAIK, K.C.B., M.A., LL.D.
RECTOR The Rector is elected by the Matriculated Students, divided into four Nations—Mar, Buchan, Moray and Angus, and holds
office for three years.* Each Nation chooses a Procurator, and the Rector is elected by the Procurators. In the case of an equality in the votes of the Procurators, the Chancellor had formerly the casting vote, and failing him, the Principal; but under the Universities Act of 1889, the election is determined, in case of equality, by the majority of the votes of all the students voting. The election takes place on such day in October or November as may be fixed by the University Court after consultation with the Senatus, and must be not later than the second Saturday in November in any year. The Rector is President of the University Court.
1866 M. E. Grant Duff, M.P., re-elected 1869.
1875 William Edward Forster, M.P., LL.D.
1878 The Earl of Rosebery, LL.D.
1881 Alexander Bain, LL. D., re-elected 1884.
1887 George Joachim Goschen, M.P., LL.D.
1890 The Marquis of Huntly, P.C., LL.D., re-elected 1893 and 1896.
1899 Lord Strathcona, G.C.M.G., LL.D.
1902 Chas. Thomson Ritchie, P.C., M.P., LL.D. (afterwards Lord Ritchie).
1908 Herbert Henry Asquith, K.C., M.P., D.C.L., LL.D.
1911 Andrew Carnegie, LL. D.
1914 THE RIGHT HON. WINSTON L. SPENCER CHURCHILL, P.C., M.P.
The Principal is appointed by the Crown for life. He is the resident Head of the University, and President of the Senatus Academicus. He is, ex officio, a member of the University Court, and, in absence of the Rector, is Chairman of the Court; also a member of the General Council, and, in absence of the Chancellor and the Rector, Chairman of the Council.
1860 Peter Colin Campbell, D.D., died 1876.
1877 Wm. Robinson Pirie, D.D., died 1885.
1885 Sir William Duguid Geddes, LL.D., D. Litt., died 1900.
*The MAR Nation consists of all Matriculated Students born within the City of Aberdeen and its neighbourhood (as included in the Parishes of St. Nicholas and Old Machar), and within the Parishes of Banchory-Devenick, Belhelvie, Drumoak, Durris, Dyce, Fintray, Kinnellar, New Machar, Maryculter, Newhills, Nigg, Peterculter, Skene, Cruden, Ellon, Foveran, Logie-Buchan, Methlick, Slains, Tarves, and Udny. The BUCHAN Nation consists of all Matriculated Students born within the County of Banff and within such part of the County of Aberdeen as is not included in the Mar Nation. The MORAY Nation consists of all Matriculated Students born within the Counties of Moray, Nairn, Inverness, Ross, Cromarty, Sutherland, Caithness, and Orkney and Shetland. The ANGUS Nation consists of all Matriculated Students not included in any of the other Nations.
REPRESENTATIVE TO MEDICAL COUNCIL-GENERAL COUNCIL.
REPRESENTATIVE TO GENERAL MEDICAL
COUNCIL. The Universities of Edinburgh and Aberdeen, by the Medical Act of 1858, § 4, were entitled jointly to elect a member of the “General Council of Medical Education and Registration of the United Kingdom ”.
By the Medical Act of 1886, § 7, each of the Universities of Scotland became entitled to elect a representative to the General Medical Council. Up to 1890, the representative was elected by the Senatus; but, by the Universities (Scotland) Act, 1889, the power of election was transferred to the University Court. The representative holds office for five years.
1858 James Syme, Edinburgh, re-elected 1863.
By the Universities Election Amendment (Scotland) Act, 1881, Section 16, it is enacted that no person shall be allowed after Examination to Graduate at this University until he shall have paid a Registration Fee for enrolment on the General Council, the amount and period of payment of which fee shall be fixed from time to time by the University Court. The Court has fixed the amount at twenty shillings, and that the same be payable immediately after passing the final examination.
The Act further provides that any person who has hitherto been or who shall in future become, ex officio, a Member of the General Council, shall, on payment of a Registration Fee, be put and continued on the Register of Members of the General Council during his life.