« AnteriorContinuar »
OF THE LIFE AND PUBLIC SERVICES
HON. JAMES HILLHOUSE
OF NEW HAVEN;
WITH A NOTICE OF HIS SON,
AUGUSTUS LUCAS HILLHOUSE.
REV. LEONARD BACON, D.D.
“JAMES HILLHOUSE, THE STATESMAN, THE PATRIOT, THE CHRISTIAN,
BORN OCT. 21, 1754,
HE LIVES IN THE AFFECTIONS OF HIS COUNTRYMEN,
AND HIS DEEDS ARE HIS MONUMENT."
JAMES HILLHOUSE, the indefatigable “nursing father,” and administrator of the School Fund of Connecticut, for fifty years treasurer of Yale College, and throughout a long and eventful life a beautiful example of the public spirited citizen in a republic, was born on the 20th of October, 1754, in Montville.
The name of HillHOUSE is that of an ancient and honorable family in the North of Ireland.
More than two hundred years ago, the family seats, with estates valued at more than two thousand pounds sterling yearly, were on the shores of Lough Foyle, near Londonderry; and though the name has there become extinct, the ancient estates, particularly Artikelly and Free Hall, are still held by descendants of the family in the female line.
Early in the last century, the Rev. James Hillhouse came to New England. His father, John Hillhouse, of Free Hall, was the eldest son of Abraham Hillhouse, who resided at Artikelly.* He “ had his education, and commenced Master of Arts at the famous university of Glasgow, in Scotland ; and afterward read Divinity at the said college under the care of Mr. Simson, then professor of Divinity there.” He was ordained by the Presbytery of Londonderry, in Ireland, and appears to have resided at or near the ancestral home till, by the death of his father in 1716, the estate descended to his elder brother Abraham. His mother died a few months later, in January, 1717. Not long after that date he came to seek a home on this side of the Atlantic. He is supposed to have come with those other Presbyterian emigrants from the North of Ireland, who, in 1719, established themselves in New Hampshire, where the towns of Derry and Londonderry, and the
* The name of Hillhouse is connected with the memorable defence of Derry against the forces of James II. James Hillhouse, a brother of John, was one of the commissioners to treat with Lord Mountjoy, and was Mayor of Londonderry in 1693. Abraham Hillhouse was among the signers of an address to King William and Queen Mary, on the occasion of the relief of the siege of Londonderry, dated 29th July, 1669.