« AnteriorContinuar »
THE FIRST COMMERCIAL MUSEUM IN THE UNITED STATES-FOUNDED IN PHILADELPHIA, 1894 Mileage
Daniel Pastorius, the founder of Germantown. Thones Kunder, one of the thirteen original settlers of Germantown, numbers among his descendants Sir Samuel Cunard,
founder of the Cunard Steamship Line. 11.6 No. 5140 Main St., in 1796 occupied by Gilbert Stuart, when in a near-by studio he
painted the celebrated “Athenaeum” portrait of Washington. 11.6 No. 5267 Main St., the Wister House, early known as Grumblethorpe, the home since
1744 of a family distinguished in the annals of Philadelphia. Here lived Sally Wister who wrote the famous Diary with its ever charming account of Revolutionary days
and events. 11.8 Just beyond Coulter St. is the pathway leading to the Germantown Friends' Meeting
House, now hidden by the new school building. The old graveyard at the right of the path dates to 1693, and in it is the unidentified grave of Francis Daniel Pastorius, the
founder of Germantown in 1683. 11.9 No. 5542 Main St., the Morris House, opposite Market Square, was built in 1772, and
is memorable as the temporary home of President Washington and his family. 12.1 Vernon Park; including Vernon Mansion, the home of John Wister, used as the Museum
of the Germantown Site and Relic Society. 12.2 Pastorius Monument.—Designed by Albert Jaegers to commemorate the 225th anniversary of the
founding of Germantown by Francis Daniel Pastorius and the original thirteen settlers. 12.4 Germantown High School, on the right. 12.4 No. 6019 Main St. occupies the
Site of the Pastorius Homestead.—The original home of the founder of Germantown stood on ground now occupied by the Methodist Church. The modernized building in the rear of the church was one of the farm houses. The beautiful building now No. 6019 Main St. was built in 1748 by a grandson of Pastorius, and was long famous as the Green Tree Tavern. In it was founded the Germantown Academy in 1759.
Mileage 12.4 Walnut Lane and Main St., southwest corner, is Wyck, believed to be the oldest (1690)
house in Germantown, and notable as a house that has never been sold. 12.5 Mennonite Meeting House, built in 1770 in place of the log meeting-house put up in
1702. Conspicuous in the graveyard is the grave of William Rittenhouse, the first pastor of the congregation, famous for the first paper mill in America and as the ancestor
of the celebrated David Rittenhouse. 12.7 No. 6239 Main St., the Washington Tavern, built in 1740; many taverns of this type
lined Main St. in early days. 12.7 Nos. 6306 and 6316 Main St., the Johnson Houses, were in the thick of the fight at the
Battle of Germantown, Directly opposite is the old Concord School (1775), in which was held the meeting that led to the organization of the Junior Order of American Mechanics. Adjoining is the Upper Burying Ground of Germantown, the oldest known
grave dating to 1716. 12.9 Johnson and Main Sts., occupying the whole block,
The Chew House.-Built in 1760, this historic old colonial mansion was the central scene in the
Battle of Germantown. See Route 10. 12.9 Almost opposite the Chew House is Upsala, built in 1798 by an ancestor of the present
occupant; one of the most beautiful examples of colonial architecture in Philadelphia. 13.1 Upsal St.; turn left. At the northeast corner of Upsal and Main Streets is the Billmeyer
House, built in 1727. Here Washington stood at the Battle of Germantown, telescope
in hand, watching the British entrenched in the Chew House.
Birthplace of David Rittenhouse.-In this picturesque old stone house, built in 1707, was born,
patriot. 15.1 Entrance to Wissahickon Drive. The drive along the picturesque Wissahickon Valley
and Creek is not open to automobiles. The region is full of romantic and historic interest. 16.3 Fork; turn right, up hill, crossing at 1.65 City Line bridge over Schuylkill River. Ou
the right, Pencoyd Iron Works of the American Bridge Co. 17.0 Philadelphia Country Club, on left. 17.4 Belmont Ave., Belmont Reservoir on left. 18.2 52nd St. and City Line Ave. Turn left for
Detour to Wynnstay, 1690.--City Line Ave. 0.0; 0.3 Woodbine Ave. and 52nd St., Wynnstay, built in part in 1690 by Dr. Thomas Wynne, William Penn's friend and physician. Turn right on Woodbine Ave. to 54th St., 0.5. At 0.8 pass No. 2471 North 54th St., "Wynnstay" (carved on gate), until recently the home of a direct descendent of Dr. Thomas Wynne. At 0.9, City Line
Ave., turn left resetting mileage at 18.4. 18.4 Cross Old Lancaster Road (merges on left into 54th St.). 18.8 Episcopal Academy, Lower School, 18.9 Episcopal Academy, Main Entrance (City Line and Berwick Aves.). Founded in 1785,
this famous old school was located in its present beautiful buildings and grounds in 1921.
Cross R.R. bridge at Overbrook Station, turning immediately left on 63rd St. 19.8 On the right, 64th and Malvern (towers visible) the Overbrook School for the Blind (The
Pennsylvania Institution for the Instruction of the Blind). 21.3 Cross Market St. (West Chester Highway). On right, Millbourne Mills, 1757. 63rd
St. at Market St. becomes the Cobb's Creek Parkway. 22.9 Diagonally right across Baltimore Ave., continuing on 58th St. 23.1 Turn right into Parkway, curving into 59th St. 23.6 Fork; keep right, on Parkway.
by the beautiful.
GRAVE OF BETSY ROSS-MT. MORIAH It is now well cared for by the Patriotic Order Sons of Built on the principle that the blind should be surrounded
America. Mileage 24.1 Detour may be made at this point to visit in Mt. Moriah Cemetery
The Grave of Betsy Ross.—Turn left into Mt. Moriah (0.0), crossing iron bridge, keeping right; turn (0.1) right, up grade; turn left (0.2), following road curving to right. At 0.3, left, marked by a flag-pole and a memorial stone, erected in 1923 by the Patriotic Order Sons of America, "in honor of the maker of the first American Flag," is the grave of Elizabeth Claypoole (1752–1836), “Betsy Ross." Returning, continue on same road curving right (avoiding roads on left) to 0.5,
turning sharp left, and left again, reaching at 0.7 the starting point. 24.1 Continue on Cobb's Creek Boulevard. 25.4 Woodland Ave.; turn left.
Woodland Avenue at 73rd St.-Woodland Avenue is the oldest highroad in Pennsylvania. Stop and walk, or make a short turn to the right on Woodland Avenue to get an unobstructed view of the old Blue Bell Tavern (1766), Washington's first welcome and last farewell to Philadelphia, as he travelled over this old road to and from Mt. Vernon. Adjoining the Blue Bell is Cobb's Creek Dam, the site of a water-mill put up by the Swedish Governor Printz in 1643. This spot is the birthplace of Pennsylvania's industries. Directly opposite this historic site is the extensive plant
of Fels & Co. soap manufacturers. 25.7 In the rear of the Harriet Beecher Stowe Public School, 70th and Woodland Ave., is a
low one-story building, the oldest public school building in Philadelphia, built in 1789,
and recently in use as an open-air school. 25.9 St. James Church, Kingsessing; built by Swedish settlers in 1760; the second of the three
original Swedish churches in or near Philadelphia. 26.6 The J. G. Brill Company, 62nd and Woodland. Brill cars have made the name of
Philadelphia known the world over. 26.9 Old Swedish Farmhouse, 59th and Woodland Ave. 27.4 54th St.; turn right. 27.7 Elmwood Ave.; turn left, and immediately right across bridge to 27.8
The Bartram House and Gardens.—Built in 1731 by John Bartram, the first American botanist, called by Linnaeus “the greatest of natural botanists in the world," this picturesque home of the
early wilderness is rich in historic associations. See Route 5. 27.8 Reverse, turning left on Elmwood Ave., and immediately right onto 54th St. 28.2 Woodland Ave.; turn right. 29.3 Entrance to Woodlands Cemetery. (Make a detour into the cemetery to inspect.)
The Woodlands.—This once luxurious mansion, built in 1770, was the country-seat of William Hamilton, grandson of the lawyer builder of Independence Hall. It was famous for its rare plants gathered from all parts of the world. Here are buried Frank R. Stockton, Dr. S. Weir Mitchell,
and other celebrities. See Route 10. 29.6 llain entrance to cemetery. 29.7 Hamilton Walk, University of Pennsylvania. Dormitories on right. 29.9 36th St.; turn right. Wharton School, on left; Wistar Institute, on right. 30.0 Spruce St.; turn left. Continue through Gate facing 36th St. to visit the University
MUSEUM OF SCIENCE AND ART-UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA Here is the home of the celebrated Babylonian collection. The present buildings are only part of a great architectural plan to take years for its complete development. Compare the recent additions not shown in this illustration, Mileage
Medical School, the first Medical School in America, founded in 1765. See Route 17.
On Spruce St., left, is Houston Hall, students' club house. 30.1 University Hospital. 30.2 33rd and Spruce Sts.; turn left.
University Museum.—Founded in 1889, this most beautiful building on the campus contains inval-
further enlargements planned to accommodate 100,000.
The Commercial Museum.--Founded at the close of the Chicago Exposition in 1894, this pioneer commercial museum of the United States in its permanent collection embraces exhibits from the Philippine Islands, Africa, China, India, Mexico, and the Latin-American countries. The four permanent buildings of the museum constitute a great permanent international trade exposition. A Foreign Trade Bureau, a Library of Commerce and Travel, and an Educational Division for lectures and the free distribution to schools of illustrative material for geographic and commercial instruction
are among the chief activities of the Museum. 30.4 Chestnut St.; turn right. One block west, at 34th and Chestnut Sts., is the Law School,
University of Pennsylvania, the first Law School in the United States, founded in 1790.
See Route 18. 30.5 Drexel Institute (32nd and Chestnut Sts.).—Founded in 1891 by the banker Anthony J. Drexel
for day and evening instruction in engineering, business administration, home economics, and library science. Features of the Institute are the Lankenau art collection, the museum, and a library containing the George W. Childs' collection of manuscripts—the priceless treasures of which are the original manuscript of Poe's “Murders in the Rue Morgue," and the original manuscript
of Dickens' "Our Mutual Friend." 30.6 On left, Job T. Pugh, Auger-maker. Founded in 1774, this centenary firm takes pride
in the fact that the holes in the yoke of the old Liberty Bell were bored with a Pugh bit. 31.0 Baltimore & Ohio R.R. Station, 24th and Chestnut Sts. 31.7 16th St.; turn left. Down Chestnut St. is a canyon of office buildings, conspicuous
among which is, on the right, the Franklin Trust Company Building, 15th and Chestnut, southwest corner; on the southeast corner, the Packard Building, occupied by the Pennsylvania Company for Insurance on Lives and Granting Annuities, founded in 1811. On the left side of Chestnut St., at 15th, is the Pennsylvania Building. At Nos. 1510-12 Chestnut Street is the CORN EXCHANGE NATIONAL BANK: Central City Office. Conspicuous over the elevated tracks of the Pennsylvania R.R., at 16th St., is the new home, located on the Parkway, of the Insurance Company of North America, founded
in 1792. 31.8 Market St.; turn right. 31.9 Broad Street Station-Pennsylvania Railroad, on left. 32.0 CITY HALL, Philadelphia.
These Routes have been planned especially to show the numerous places of historic or civic interest to be seen in approaching or leaving Philadelphia by any one of its leading highways. Directions are complete for a radius of some twenty-five miles from the city. Tourists bound to or from more distant places listed in the text will need the usual guides for detailed directions. See Map on page 319.