« AnteriorContinuar »
THE UNITED STATES MINT-BUILT 1901-ESTABLISHED 1792 On Spring Garden Street between Sixteenth and Seventeenth is located the oldest mint in the United States and the largest in output in the world. Go north on Broad Street from City Hall, reversing at Green Street (0.7) for west turn on Spring Garden Street. At 1.0 m., entrance to Mint.
The material for stars is stamped out with a pantaloons, stockings, overcoats, shoes, gloves, steel-cutting die, also on an electric-driven mittens, caps, helmets, plumes and cap ornastamping machine. In the operating room ments, and also bedding, blankets, tents, and the alternate red and white stripes are joined other camp equipage. together on a double-needle sewing machine. The Schuylkill Arsenal has been the bulEach blue bunting field is carefully marked wark of every war in the nation's history for its stars, and the stars are stitched on with since the Revolution. Indeed, records at the a zig-zag machine. Numerous other operations Arsenal begin with 1781 and include numerous complete the process.
transactions previous to 1800. Among the The Schuylkill Arsenal, Gray's Ferry Road historic documents on file are the records of and Washington Avenue, is the chief land "the annuities” paid to the Indians in early mark in the history of the Quartermaster's days; the records of the shipments of “gifts” Department of the United States Army. or annuities sent to the Barbary “pirates;” Purchased by the Secretary of War in 1799, and the records of the equipment furnished the grounds of the Arsenal have been under the famous Lewis and Clark expedition in continuous control of the United States 1803, which resulted in the exploration and Government ever since. The first building annexation of the Great Northwest. erected is still standing showing the date-stone The United States Naval Asylum, situated of 1800. With the opening of the Frankford on Gray's Ferry Road, at the corner of BainArsenal, in 1818, the Schuylkill Arsenal began bridge Street, is occupied by old sailors. The to lose its character as an “arsenal,” since attractive buildings in their spacious grounds that time becoming the great workshop, of twenty-five acres were formally dedicated storehouse, and centre of distribution of in 1831. Here was first established the United clothing for soldiers, including everything States Naval Academy, which was removed connected with the uniform-coats, shirtings, to Annapolis, Maryland, in 1845.
THE UNITED STATES POST OFFICE Extending on Ninth Street from Market to Chestnut, it is built on ground occupied by the University of
Pennsylvania from 1802 until 1873. Go east from City Hall on Market Street to 0.4 m.
The United States Naval Hospital, although Jewish Hospital, Old York and Tabor Roads. located on the grounds of the Naval Asylum, The operations of coinage are open to public is under different management. The hospital inspection as well as the largest and most was built in 1864-68.
valuable collection of coins and medals in the The United States Mint, now located on United States. Among the coins are some Spring Garden Street, and extending from dating to 2000 years before the Christian era. Sixteenth to Seventeenth, is the oldest mint The “widow's mite," found near the site of in the United States and in output is the
the temple at Jerusalem, is one of many coins largest in the world. The Philadelphia Mint of surpassing interest. United States copper was established by act of Congress, April 2, cents were first coined in 1793, silver dollars 1792. David Rittenhouse was the first in 1794, and gold eagles in 1795. The first Director. The original Mint stood on the gold received from California was deposited east side of Seventh Street above Market in the Philadelphia Mint, December 8, 1848. (1792-1833), and was the first building erected The United States Post Office, Ninth Street, in any part of the United States under the from Market to Chestnut, began business on authority of the National Government. From this site in 1884. The corner-stone of the 1833 until 1901, the Mint occupied the present building was laid in 1873, on ground occupied site of the Widener Building, Juniper and by the University of Pennsylvania from 1802Chestnut Streets. The Grecian columns 1873. One of the University buildings was the that graced the portico of the Chestnut so-called“ presidential mansion,” built by the Street Mint now stand on the grounds of the State of Pennsylvania in 1792-97 for Wash
THE UNITED STATES CUSTOM HOUSE Located on Chestnut Street, between Fourth and Fifth, in one of the finest specimens of Doric architecture in the world. From City Hall, go east on Market Street to Sixth, turning right to Chestnut Street; left on Chestnut to 1.1 m.
ington, but never occupied by him. Boyle's Custom House occupied its own building on statue on the Chestnut Street front com Second Street below Dock, west side. memorates Franklin as Postmaster General. The United States Arsenal at Frankford,
The upper stories of the Post Office build- popularly known as the Frankford Arsenal, ing are occupied by the United States circuit is located at Tacony Road and Bridge Street, and district courts, United States district near Bridesburg. Originally a plot of twenty attorney, marshal, court clerks, and other acres, bought by the National Government officers of the National Government. in 1816, the grounds of the Arsenal have
The United States Custom House, Chestnut recently been increased to over 62 acres. The Street between Fourth and Fifth, occupies a manufacture of small arms and ammunition building originally constructed for the second has gone on at the Frankford Arsenal for over United States Bank, 1819-1824. The building
The building a century. Occasionally big ordnance has is considered one of the finest specimens of been manufactured here. During the late Doric architecture in the world, and was mod World War 6100 persons were employed in eled after the Parthenon at Athens. It was first the various processes of manufacture. used by the Custom House in 1845. In early The complete activities of the United States times the collectors of revenue occupied their Government in Philadelphia are too extensive own residences or stores. Carpenters' Hall even to enumerate here. The full list, with was rented for Custom House purposes from addresses, will be found in the Bell Telephone 1802 until 1817. From 1817 until 1845 the Directory.
CITY HALL SQUARE AS IT LOOKED JULY 4. 1812
Krimmell, and the original is at the Academy of Fine Arts. See page 198.
This is Birch's well known print of Penn's original home on Letitia Street, where the government of
the City and the State began.
The William Penn Sight-Seeing Tour—20.7 m.
Arranged especially for visitors limited in time, this sight-seeing tour of Philadelphia, based on Historic Route 2—Memorials of William Penn, embraces some of the best scenic and historic features of the Quaker City.
Beginning with a view of the city from City Hall Tower, it leads through sections of old Philadelphia that are still full of the charm of Colonial days; it includes colorful pictures of streets and buildings, modern and ancient; it gives sweeping glimpses of ships and shipping on the Delaware River front, together with an impressive view of the new Delaware River Bridge; it shows where Penn landed in 1682; where he made his famous treaty with the Indians, and the house in which he lived—the first brick house in Philadelphia; it allows time for brief visits to Old Swedes' Church, Girard College, Memorial Hall, Horticultural Hall, the Aquarium; it provides time to see at the Historical Society of Pennsylvania celebrated historic paintings and stirring personal relics of Penn, Washington, Franklin, Lincoln; and others; after a magnificent view of the city from Belmont Hill, it concludes with a drive through romantic Fairmount Park, showing the picturesque beauties of both sides of the lovely Schuylkill; and finally, after passing the memorials to Grant, Lincoln, and Washington, ends in the perfect panorama of the Parkway, said to be the most beautiful promenade in America.
A full morning or afternoon is necessary for this trip. Two hours are red for actual driving-time, but adequate additional time must be allowed if stops are made at City Hall, Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Old Swedes' Church, Penn Treaty Park, Memorial Hall, the Aquarium, or other places of interest.
CITY HALL, Philadelphia, south side. After visiting City Hall Tower, go east on
City Hall.—Long noted as the largest single building in the world, this home of the municipal gov-
City Hall Tower.-Guides for visiting the tower will be found on the first floor, east corridor. 0.0 Juniper St.; turn right. On left
The Wanamaker Store.—Founded by John Wanamaker, originator in the development of the department store in America, this great Philadelphia institution is a daily international exposition of the choice products of the world. The Wanamaker organ, originally exhibited at the St. Louis
Exposition and since enlarged, is the largest and most majestic instrument in the world.
Philadelphia Library Company (northeast corner of Locust and Juniper).—Established on its present
anuscripts, historic portraits, and relics. Not to be missed are the portrait of “Penn in Armor," Penn's famous Indian Wampum Belt, Washington's desk, Franklin's composing-stick, and Lincoln's law library. For other details see General
Camac Street.--A famous little strect that has earned the name of the “Greenwich Village" of
places for adventures in eating.
Portuguese Hebrew Burying Ground, 1740.-Rebecca Gratz, the original of Scott's heroine in
"Ivanhoe,” lies buried here. 0.9 8th St.; turn right to main entrance of the
Pennsylvania Hospital, 1754.-Aside from its humanitarian and scientific importance, this institution is of great historic interest. The cornerstone with the quaint inscription written by Franklin in 1754, the great scion of the Penn Treaty Elm, Benjamin West's “Christ Healing the Sick," the beautiful Colonial stair-case and woodwork, and the antique library at the top of the building are all of exceptional interest.