Imágenes de páginas
PDF
EPUB

xxxii

ADVERTISEMENTS

TEACHERS

as well as other persons contemplating a holiday trip for the coming

summer, should plan to visit the

[blocks in formation]

Two magnificent twin screw, nineteen-knot steamers, “PRINCE GEORGE” and ARTHUR," in commission during the coming season, between BOSTON and

“ PRINCE

1

THE MARITIME PROVINCES

Under 13 hours, Boston to Yarmouth, connecting there with the famous “Flying Bluenose" trains for all points in the Provinces. The steamers of this Company are twin screw, electric lighted throughout, combin. ing greatest speed with comfort and safety. Delightful climate, beautiful scenery and the most

hospitable people in America.

At the many, prettily situated towns in the Annapolis Valley, tourists can spend the summer in a cozy retreat in a very inexpensive manner. The bracing air, filled with pure ozone, is the greatest appetizer in the world, and has made the “ Land of Evangeline" famous as a health resort. The poet Longfellow, in " Evan. geline,” has only faintly outlined its manifold charms.

For all particulars as to boarding houses, hotels and beautifully illustrated literature, write to

J. F. MASTERS, N. E. Superintendent, Long Wharf, Boston

F. H. ARMSTRONG, G. P. A., Kentville, Nova Scotia

ADVERTISEMENTS

xxxiii

I N

T HE BERKSHIRE HILLS OF MASSACHUSETTS

MAY BE FOUND THAT LUXURY OF COUNTRY
LIFE, CHARM OF SCENERY, SPIRIT AND VIGOR
OF MOUNTAIN AIR WHICH CANNOT BE
EXCELLED IN THIS COUNTRY. :: :: ::

[ocr errors]
[graphic][ocr errors][merged small]
[ocr errors]

“SUMMER HOMES Is the title of an illustrated

and descriptive folder conON THE BOSTON

taining a complete list of the & ALBANY R.R.

Hotels and Summer Board

ing Houses along the line of that road. It is richly illustrated with half-tone cuts of mountains, lakes, waterfalls, stage-roads, etc., and all prospective summer tourists will find it most interesting. A copy may be secured by addressing

A. S. HANSON, General Passenger Agent, Boston, Mass.

[merged small][merged small][ocr errors]
[graphic]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

tia Coast, through the Straits of Canso. The Celebrated Bras d'Or Lake Route, New Steamer, Daylight Service. Weekly sailings till June 14, then two trips per week. Best salmon and trout fishing. Send stamp for booklet, colored maps, etc.

J. A. FLANDERS,
General Agent, Boston, Mass.

1

1

ADVERTISEMENTS

XXXV

We look (by the stereograph) upon strange peoples and unknown lands with our own eyes not with another's. We have a feeling that we are gazing upon reality.

G, J. Smith, Ph.D., Examiner, New York City.

[graphic][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small]

A HANDY POCKET MANUAL The book treats in a compact and comprehensive manner every essential of an economical yet modern school building. The things that ought to be understood about school architecture are treated in a practical way. The language is direct, terse and compact. The leading school house architects regard the little work as a safe guide. It is approved as being sound, correct and progressive.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Everyone sending $1.00 for a year's subscription to the "American School Board Journal" will receive

Architect's Fees. Fences,

Temperature. Assembly Rooms. Flooring.

Toilet Rooms.
Balustrade. Floors.

Trees and Shrubbery.
Basement.
Floor Plans.

Ventilation.
Blackboards. Foundations.

Walls-Plastered.
Boiler Rooms. Hand Railings. Wardrobes.
Building Material. Height.

Windows.
Ceilings.
Humidity.

Window Shades.
Chalk Troughs. Humidostats.

Wood Finish.
Chimneys.

Janitor's Room. Etc., Etc., Etc.
Class Rooms. Lighting.
Cloak Rooms. Material

Heating and Venti.
Coal Bins.
Metal Work.

lation. Corridors.

Partitions-Movable. Deafening.

Principal's Room. Methods of Heating. Doors.

Roots and Roofing. Furnace Heating. Drainage.

Sites (location). Steam Heating.
Dust Flues.

Sites (how secured) Natural Ventilation.
Entrances.
Stair Cases.

Mechanical Ventila-
Elevators.
Steam.

tion.
Equipment. Teacher's B'kcases. The Amount of Air
Excavations. Teacher's Room. Required for Ven-
Exposure.

Teacher's W'drobe. tilation.

[blocks in formation]

WM. GEO. BRUCE, Publisher, MILWAUKEE, WIS.

xxxvi

ADVERTISEMENTS

The New International

Encyclopædia

Editors-in-Chief:

DANIEL COIT GILMAN, LL.D. President of Johns Hopkins University (1876-1902). President of Carnegie Institution. HARRY THURSTON PECK, Ph.D., L.H.D. FRANK MOORE COLBY, M.A. Professor in Columbia University.

Late Professor in New York University.

THE NATION, New York: As an Encyclopædia of American interests for American readers it is un. doubtedly the best and fullest in existence.

THE SUN, New York: As it stands, the New Inter. national is the most helpful Encyclopædia in English that we have seen.

HAMILTON WRIGHT MABIE: I have found the New International Encyclopædia ready to answer all my questions and give me all the information I ask. The most careful person need not fear to trust it implicitly. It happily combines scholarly exact. ness of knowledge with simplicity and interest of statement.

WILLIAM R. HARPER, D.D., Pres't University, Chicago : I have had occasion to use the New International Encyclopædia. The articles I have consulted are well written and show evidence of a thorough and satisfactory grasp of the subject. The name of President Gilman as chief editor guarantees that the work has been thoroughly done.

An entirely new work. Not a revision of nor based upon any existing work. Every subject completely, exhaustively treated down to the year 1903. Comprehensive, accurate, trustworthy, impartial, and intelligible. The most competent specialists have contributed to its various departments.

The advance sales have already exceeded $1,000,000. Over 700 public libraries have purchased this Encyclopædia. · It is not a Dictionary but a perfect Encyclopædia worthy of its name. 17 Royal Octavo volumes. More than 16,000 pages. 65,000 separate articles-double the number found in any other Encyclopædia in the English language. 100 full-page colored lithographs. 600 full-page engravings. More than 7,000 illustrations. Everything arranged for quick reference by busy men and women.

The New International, now practically complete, is still offered at a special introductory price, so low and on terms so easy that every book-loving individual may possess it and not feel the outlay.

There is a host of reasons why The New International Encyclopædia is best for American readers, but it is impossible to present them in an advertisement. We have therefore prepared an 80-page book containing handsome illustrations and maps, and fully describing this monumental work, which we will send you free upon request.

[graphic]

No. 17

DODD, USE ANNEXED

MEAD & CO. COUPON

120 Boylston Street,

Boston Please send, without cost to me, the handsome book describing The New International Encyclopædia, and containing specimen pages, colored illustrations, maps, and in

DODD, MEAD & CO.

formation regarding discount and PUBLISHERS

easy payment plan for readers of Edu. 120 Boylston Street, Boston

Name.
Post Office

State

CATION.

FILL IN NAME AND ADDRESS AND SEND THIS COUPON

« AnteriorContinuar »